Why are Younique presenters pushy?

You can do a simple Internet search and see one of the complaints about Younique and its presenters is that we are pushy, spammy, and just down right annoying. And trust me – I get that. If 10% of your Facebook friends are Younique presenters, chances are you will be inundated with some of the same posts and pictures at the same time. 

It boils down to one simple thing really. We want to share what we love. And we want our friends to know what we love. Think back to the last time you raved about something – a restaurant, a brand, a store, whatever. Did you let your friends know about your experience?  I am famous for sharing everything. If you look through my Facebook timeline, yes, I talk about Younique, but I also mention my love for LuLaRoe (no, I’m not a consultant) or my daily need for Shakeology (again, not a Beachbody coach). I rave about my gym (Onelife Fitness) and attending BodyPump (ok, yes I’m a certified instructor but I don’t get paid based on the number of people who attend my classes).

My point, instead of rolling your eyes and saying “gee, not another post about that dang-gone mascara,” maybe stop and think about why your friend is posting about it.  She could just be sharing because she really likes it.  If a good number of your friends are Younique presenters, maybe they may be on to something.  I’m not saying join the brand-wagon because everyone else has. I’m just saying don’t knock it till you try it. I tell my kids that all the time. If I give them something out of the ordinary to eat, they are quick to balk and say “I don’t like this.”  My first question is “but have you tried it before?”  And usually the answer is no. It just may not be presented in a way appealing to them, and if I can convince them to try it, they may find out they actually like it. 

What if you keep getting added to Younique groups?  I don’t personally recommend that presenters or hostesses arbitrarily add everyone to their Younique parties. I will admit that I did when I first started as a presenter and I wish I hadn’t. I wish I had contacted each person personally and talked to her about it before I went in and added everyone I knew to my group. But that’s a lesson learned in my book.   We just get so excited and want to share with everyone we know!  And yes, I too get added to many different groups and it is really easy to manage that. With a click of a button, you can turn off notifications:

To edit your notification settings for a group, go to a group and click Notifications in the top-right corner. From here, you can select: All Posts: You’ll get notifications any time members post in the group.

Or if you want to just leave the group, follow these steps:

To leave a group, go to the group, click Joined at the top and then select Leave Group. When you leave a group: Members won’t be notified. You’re removed from the member list and the group will be removed from your list of groups.

Most Younique presenters don’t want to annoy our friends. We are just sharing what we love and there’s no better platform to share than on social media. Let’s not forget that Younique is completely 100% online-based. We do not require home parties or a monthly inventory quota.  We are truly a home-based, work your own hours business.  But if you are a true friend of someone who works in network marketing, think about this: are you being a supportive friend?  I understand being bombarded with constant posts of “buy this,” but aren’t we as a society already targets of marketing? Commercials on tv or radio, ads in magazines, ads on websites, billboards. It’s everywhere we look. It is just the way our society works.  So instead of padding the pockets of CEOs already making millions of dollars, why don’t you help your friend who is looking at a different way of making an income?  Your purchase from someone’s network marketing business could help them pay bills or pay for a long-over due vacation. I don’t know about you, but I feel pretty good about myself when I know I am helping a friend out. 

Leave a Reply

